Frybread Face & Me

Sabrina Monet
2 min readNov 24, 2023
courtesy of Netflix

I’m watching this now as I work on an assignment due yesterday. I saw the ad when I was slowly passing out into a Thanksgiving food coma. What caught me in the commercial was the main character wanting to see Stevie Nicks in concert and being told it was devil music.

Stevie Nicks is a witch and there’s nothing wrong with that. She is a white witch who wrote the lyrics to the Rumours album during a mystical week in Napa Valley. As the years go on and I listen to that album, I can’t understand how magic wasn’t involved. The lyrics, the guitar rifts, the drums. They aren’t just songs, they’re incantations.

When the 11-year-old main character is told that the concert is a no-go, he runs outside and rips open his jacket to reveal a Fleetwood Mac shirt as he screams out at the universe. That was within the first five minutes of the movie and it’s all I needed to know. No one should be denied Stevie Nicks because she provides solace and acts as a conduit to the other realms.

I’m not eleven, I don’t see spending a summer on the reservation as a bad idea. I’m an adult with high blood pressure, if someone offered me a few weeks somewhere quiet to relax and learn how to make blankets from scratch, I would love it. Given that I would have my headset on and most likely blasting Stevie Nicks while I did it.

The kids are getting to know each other and I think they’re about to run away on an adventure together. I don’t know the logistics or the consequences for them leaving the reservation, but I think this is when the journey begins.

I usually wait until I finish a film to talk about and see it through the lens of how it compares to other films in the same genre, but there are so few nights where I’ve had a day of doing absolutely nothing and I have the opportunity to sit with my laptop on the bed while I watch a film.

Benny: Mack Fleetwood is the best drummer in the world

Fry: Clearly you’ve never been to a pow-wow.

I’m glad that Benny made it to Fleetwood Mac.

--

--

Sabrina Monet

A writer surviving in LA. When I’m not toying with my manuscripts, I’m somewhere on the Internet using up my time. Find me at sabrinamonet.com/writes