True Detective: Night Country

Sabrina Monet
2 min readJan 15, 2024

Tomorrow is a holiday and I forgot this premiered tonight. I tend to give weekly shows a few weeks because I hate watching one episode at a time. I can’t hold off from the True Detective series. Seasons 1 and 3 sat with me for a while. I liked elements of season 2.

Nic Pizzolatto writes a lot of gothic themes into his stories. If I’m not mistaken, none of the previous seasons ever ended up having a supernatural element.

I’m not taking the bait of Rose seeing someone dancing in the snow and then finding those bodies. I’m going to assume that we’ll learn she knows something about that base and it manifested to her in what she’ll describe as a vision.

Deputy Danvers, it’s 20 below zero and everything looks miserable out there in Alaska without any sun. How do you have those highlights that would need to be touched up every three weeks? I’ll let it slide, it’s a TV show.

I’m invested. I’ll tune in every Sunday until we get to the end. This is giving me a Wind River meets The Thing vibes. I don’t believe it will be that completely, but I believe elements from each of those films will be present in this season.

--

--

Sabrina Monet

A writer surviving in LA. When I’m not toying with my manuscripts, I’m somewhere on the Internet using up my time. Find me at sabrinamonet.com/writes